MASTER'S DEGREE, M.ED.

Earn an M.Ed. in Early Education, Environmental Literacy, or Special Education 100% online starting NOW!

Masters Of Education (M.Ed.)

Beginning from and building upon the ongoing legacy of the IMPACT intern teacher program, the Teachers College of San Joaquin was founded. Teachers College of San Joaquin is the only WASC accredited institution of higher education that is a department within a county office of education. Since its inception in 2009, has graduated more than 500 master's candidates. With a vision to develop a workforce of innovative and reform-minded educators, the college includes opportunities for veteran educators to advance their understanding of the needs of 21st century learners and refine their practice as they earn a master’s degree in education. Graduate candidates are challenged to consider and design new models of schools, carry out action research, develop curriculum, hone leadership skills, and reflect on the outcomes of their practice.




Program Highlights

  • Choose between six M.Ed. concentrations
  • Choose your own schedule
  • Take relevant, rigorous, and research-based coursework
  • Become a leader at your school site/place of work
  • Be challenged to think differently
  • Develop innovative curriculum
  • Affordable and interest free payment plans



Quick Links

TCSJ offers 6 M.Ed. Program concentrations that range from 32-38 units. Learn more about the individual concentrations below.

M.ED. EARLY EDUCATION

EARLY EDUCATION

Coursework Format Options:
100% Online, 100% In-Person, or Blended

M.ED. EDUCATIONAL INQUIRY

EDUCATIONAL INQUIRY

Coursework Format Options:
100% In-Person, or Blended

M.ED. EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP & SCHOOL DEVELOPMENT

EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP & SCHOOL DEVELOPMENT

Coursework Format Options:
100% In-Person, or Blended

Environmental Literacy

Environmental Literacy

Coursework Format Options:
100% Online or Blended

M.ED. SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING AND MATHEMATICS

SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING AND MATHEMATICS

Coursework Format Options:
100% In-Person, or Blended

M.ED. SPECIAL EDUCATION

SPECIAL EDUCATION

Coursework Format Options:
100% Online, 100% In-Person, or Blended

Masters Project

Candidates pursuing their M.Ed. in Early Education are required to complete a Masters Project as their capstone assignment for the master's program. Each candidate will work with an advisor to determine an appropriate culminating project. The project will culminate in a written document suitable for an educational audience. This project will be presented to their master's committee for evaluation prior to graduation. The master's committee will include the candidate’s advisor, two faculty members, a member of the greater educational community, and at least one fellow student.

Continuous Enrollment for the Masters Project: Two semesters are allotted for the completion of the Master’s Project. After the scheduled two semesters, students agree to stay continuously enrolled and pay $50 per semester while working to complete their project.




Master's Advisors

Jack Bland, M.Ed.

jbland@teacherscollegesj.edu

Joel Blomenkamp, Ed.D

jblomenkamp@teacherscollegesj.edu

Katie Bomer, M.Ed.

kbomer@teacherscollegesj.edu

Katie Burns, Ed.D.

kburns@teacherscollegesj.edu

Brad Butcher, Ed.D.

bbutcher@teacherscollegesj.edu

Brandy Byers, Ed.D.

jbbyers@teacherscollegesj.edu

Karin Compise, Ed.D.

kcompise@teacherscollegesj.edu

Tim Costello, M.Ed.

tcostello@teacherscollegesj.edu

Amy Frame

aframe@teacherscollegesj.edu

Amanda Peters-Gomez, M.Ed.

agomez@teacherscollegesj.edu

Adrianne Go-Miller, Ed.D.

agomiller@teacherscollegesj.edu

Andrew Griggs, M.Ed.

agriggs@teacherscollegesj.edu

Cid Gunston-Parks, Ph.D.

cgunstonparks@teacherscollegesj.edu

Sheila Harrison, Ed.D.

sharrison@teacherscollegesj.edu

Elisabeth Hensel, M.Ed.

ehensel@teacherscollegesj.edu

Tiani Hudgins, M.Ed.

thudgins@teacherscollegesj.edu

Jennifer Lucas, M.Ed.

jlucas@teacherscollegesj.edu

Lori Morgan, Ed.D.

lmorgan@teacherscollegesj.edu

Jorge Pulido, M.A.

jpulido@teacherscollegesj.edu

Susie Reed, M.S.

sreed@teacherscollegesj.edu

Dean Reese

dreese@teacherscollegesj.edu

Linda Song, M.Ed.

lsong@teacherscollegesj.edu

Hailee Thum, M.Ed.

hbouthillier@teacherscollegesj.edu

Jackie Villines, M.Ed.

jvillines@teacherscollegesj.edu

John White, M.A.

johnwhite@teacherscollegesj.edu

Katie Wipfli, M.A.

kwipfli@sjcoe.net




Quick Links

2021 Tuition

$460/unit (until May 31, 2021):

  • Early Education - $14,720
  • Educational Inquiry - $14,720
  • Educational Leadership & School Development - $14,720 - $17,480
  • Environmental Literacy - $14,720
  • STEM - $15,180 - $16,100
  • Special Education - $14,720

$480/unit (Beginning June 1, 2021):

  • Early Education - $15,360
  • Educational Inquiry - $15,360
  • Educational Leadership & School Development - $15,360 - $18,240
  • Environmental Literacy - $15,360
  • STEM - $15,840 - $16,800
  • Special Education - $15,360



2021 Fees

  • (One-Time) Technology Fee = $150
  • Textbook fees
    • Books are not included in tuition. M.Ed. students may spend approximately $150 on books during this program



Payment Plans:

  • Interest-free payment plans
  • Can pay a year past completion of the program
  • Students are locked in at the unit rate when they begin the program